Sardar Muhammad Yousuf



Designation: Religious Affairs and Inter-faith Harmony
Institution / Org:

Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz

Views & Comments: 3010 (Views) / 0 (Comments)
Articles: 0 Article(s)
Phone Messages: 0 Phone Message(s)

50% 50% 0%

Total 2 Votes
Invalid votes : 0
Details | Fame Graph

Sardar Muhammad Yousuf is a former Nazim of Mansehra District in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. He is a member, and an Additional secretary-general, of the Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid-e-azam).

Yousuf recently came to prominence for opposing the renaming of the NWFP to Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. He criticised the President of Pakistan, Asif Ali Zardari, for referring to the province as Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa - saying this was unconstitutional and done to please coalition partners. He along with other nazims of the Districts of Hazara Division opposed the name change. If the province was renamed in line with the proposal from the Awami National Party then, according to Sardar Yousuf, a creation of a Hazara Province would be justified.

His political career started with membership of the district council in 1979, winning a provincial assembly seat in 1985 and 1990. He won the Pakistan National Assembly seat for Mansehra for three consecutive terms(1990,1993,1996). After being elected as District Nazim he worked hard for the rehabilitation of the survivors of the 2005 devastating earthquake. His major contribution is resolving the issue of NOC for the poor tenants. Now he has joined hands with the Hazara Action Committee for the rights of Hazarewal people and he is the convener of the Hazara Action Committee. His son, Sardar Shahjahan Yousuf (current MNA), was the first member who opposed the name Khyber-Pukhtunkhawa in the national assembly. He protested and Asif Zardari, president, to not use the name Khyber-Pukhtinkhawa during his speech to the joint session.

He joined the PML-N in the start of 2013; invited the Main Mohammad Nawaz Sharif to address in Mansehra city for election campaign and contested the election 2013 on PML-N ticket from NA-20 Mansehra 1. Finally, He got clear victory over Azam khan swati getting 105432 votes on 11 May 2013 and elected as member of National Assembly of Pakistan.

Reader's Comments Write Your Comment
Notify me when comment has been approved and published 
Please do not use indecent language. Any comment with abusive or foul language will be removed.

No Comments found, be the first to write a comment!
TV Program
Bay Laag
Phone Messages

Previous Phone messages

No Records Found
Public Figures